Prairie Research Institute Advisory Board

About the Board

The Advisory Board is the primary external advisory body for the Prairie Research Institute, (originally the Institute of Natural Resource Sustainability), which was created within the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) on July 1, 2008. The Board is charged with providing input and advice related to the scientific and research agenda, management, and funding of the Institute. Board members transmit their findings to the Vice Chancellor for Research. The Institute Executive Director, after consultation with the Chair of the Advisory Board, appoints members to the Board who serve 3-year terms and are renewed at the discretion of the Executive Director. The Board meets twice a year.

The Institute contains five Divisions: Illinois Natural History Survey, Illinois State Archeological Survey, Illinois State Geological Survey, Illinois State Water Survey, and Illinois Sustainable Technology Center

Institute History

Prior to their move to the University as part of the newly formed Institute in July 2008, the Surveys and Center were housed in state government and governed by the Board of Natural Resources and Conservation. Within the University, the Institute Executive Director reports to the Vice Chancellor for Research. The Institute is now governed by the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

The Board Members

The Board comprises the Executive Director of the Institute; the Dean of the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) at UIUC; the Dean of the College of Engineering at UIUC; the Director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) at UIUC; the Directors of the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, or their representatives; and several at-large members who represent the broad spectrum of clients served by the research of the Institute's Divisions.

List of members with contact information

Updated 02/03/14 AW

615 E. Peabody Drive, MC-650
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: 217-333-5111
Fax: 217-244-1542

        Terms of use         Privacy statement
Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.
© 2016 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Prairie Research Institute.